Power BI – Bulk Changing Permissions (Read, Reshare & Build) on Datasets
I recently had a challenge where a report was shared with a whole lot of people (Which is a good thing!).
The challenge was that when you share reports, by default it has the option to “Reshare” as shown below.
Whilst this sometimes is what is required, I always suggest to people to remove this option and rather manage it by exception.
If you do leave this option enabled, it means if I had to share a report with Bob, Bob would then be able to reshare the report with someone else. This could potentially lead to other people gaining access to a report or data that they should not see.
Fortunately, I found a way to quickly remove the reshare option in the Power BI Service.
I went into my dataset that had been shared, clicked on the three dots and seleted Manage Permissions
- I could then see all the users and groups with access
I then selected the users I where I wanted to change their permissions.
- What I did find is that were the permissions were common between users I could change those permissions.
- For example, if I selected Gilbert Quevauvilliers and guavaq I then had the option to “Remove build or Remove access”
And if I there were differences between all 3 selected users, I would get the option of “No Actions Available”
Back to removing the reshare permissions, I then selected all the users who had “reshare” under permissions and selected “Remove reshare”
- NOTE: I did have to wait a few seconds for this to happen, so just be patient and let it do its thing.
I could then see the changes reflected.
- That is a lot easier than having to do it manually especially if you got a lot of users or groups.
Thanks for reading I hope that you found this useful and could save you some time.
As always comments and questions are welcome!